PTI’s Asad Qaisar elected Speaker National Assembly

ISLAMABAD: Asad Qaisar of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has been elected as 15thSpeaker of the National Assembly with 176 votes after a stiff competition with Pakistan People Party’s Khursheed Shah who got 146 votes.

Announcing the name of new speaker, outgoing NA speaker Ayaz Sadiq said a total of 330 votes were polled, of them eight were rejected.

He said Mr. Qaisar received 176 votes, while Mr. Shah bagged 146 votes. Moments later, he administered oath to the newly-elected NA speaker.

The newly-elected MNAs cast votes for their desired candidates through a secret ballot earlier during the voting.