Journalist Panel wins NPC elections 2018-19 secured all seats except the secretary finance seat..

ISLAMABAD: The Journalist Panel swept the National Press Club elections on Saturday and secured all seats except the secretary finance seat.

The panel’s Tariq Mehmood Chaudhry was elected president with 989 votes while Shakeel Anjum was elected general secretary after securing 1,225 votes. His opponent, Sami Ibrahim got 650 votes.




The victorious panel has been in power for ten years.


The Azad Panel’s Nausheen Yousaf was elected secretary finance with 1,013 votes while her opponent Shakir Solangi received 848 votes.Shakeel Qarar, the presidential candidate of the Azad Panel, put up a good fight and secured 978 votes.

The Azad Group has alleged the election committee deprived it of its mandate.

The Journalist Panel’s Asif Bashir Chaudhry, Bilal Dar and Khawaja Kashif Rafique were elected as vice presidents while Maira Imran of the same panel was elected on the vice president woman seat by getting 943 votes.

All seats of the governing body were also won by this panel.