Petition seeking disqualification of 16 PMLN legislators filed

LAHORE: A petition seeking disqualification of 16 PMLN parliamentarians including Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and Chief Minister Punjab Shahbaz Sharif is being filed at the Lahore High Court.

The petition filed by Amna Malik also asks court to order contempt of court proceedings initiated against the 16 legislators of ruling PMLN. The petitioner also names ousted prime minister Nawaz Sharif and federal ministers as respondents.

Petitioner Amna Malik argues that prior to and after the announcement of the verdict of the Panama Papers case by the five-member larger bench of the Supreme Court the PMLN legislators publicly issued statements against judiciary and courts which clearly tantamount to committing contempt of court. The PMLN legislators violated the Articles 62 and 63 of the constitution by giving inciting statements about the judiciary. The petition asks the court to declare the 16 PMLN legislators disqualified and initiation of contempt of court proceedings against them.